Skip to main content

A Level grades explained

A Levels are an important qualification for many students, as they can impact university admissions and future career prospects.

Understanding how A Level grades are calculated and what they mean is essential for any student taking these exams.

This page will answer some common questions about A Level grading, including what grades are considered a pass, how many UCAS points an A Level is worth, and how A Level grades are calculated.

What grades are a pass at A Level?

A Levels are graded on a scale from A* to E, with A* being the highest grade and E being the lowest passing grade. Therefore, any grade from A* to E is considered a pass at A Level.

However, it is important to note that some universities and courses may require specific grades for admission, so it’s best to check with your desired university before applying. 

How many UCAS points is an A Level worth?

An A Level is worth a certain number of UCAS points, which can be used by universities and colleges to assess a student’s eligibility for admission. 

The number of UCAS points awarded for each grade is as follows:

  • A*: 56 points
  • A: 48 points
  • B: 40 points
  • C: 32 points
  • D: 24 points
  • E: 16 points

These points are cumulative, so a student’s total UCAS points will depend on the number of A Levels they take and the grades they receive.

What are the A Level grade boundaries?

The grade boundaries for A Levels are set by exam boards each year and can vary depending on the difficulty of the exam.

These boundaries determine the minimum mark required to achieve each grade. For example, in 2021, the grade boundaries for the A Level Maths exam were as follows:

  • A*: 175/200
  • A: 157/200
  • B: 137/200
  • C: 116/200
  • D: 95/200
  • E: 74/200

It’s important to note that these boundaries can change from year to year and are only released after the exam results have been published.

How are A Levels graded?

A Levels are graded through a combination of coursework and exams. The exact breakdown of coursework and exams will vary depending on the subject, but generally, A Level grades are determined by the student’s performance on the final exams.

The exams are marked by trained examiners and are graded on a scale from A* to E, with each grade corresponding to a certain range of marks.

How are A Level grades calculated?

A Level grades are calculated by taking into account the student’s performance on the final exams, as well as any coursework or practical assessments.

Each exam board will have it’s own system for calculating grades, but generally, grades are determined by assigning a certain percentage of marks to each grade. 

For example, a student who scores 90% or higher may receive an A*, while a student who scores between 70% and 79% may receive a B grade.

Online A Level courses

We offer a range of online A Level courses that are designed to help students achieve their full potential in their exams. The courses are taught by experienced and qualified tutors and are available in a variety of subjects. Here is the full list of courses we offer:


When it comes to A Level grades, the entry requirements can vary depending on the course and the university you are applying to.

In general, universities typically require three A Levels, although some may accept two.

The grades required will also differ, but most universities will ask for ABB or above. However, some courses may require higher grades such as AAA, while others may accept lower grades such as BBB.

It’s important to note that the entry requirements can also be influenced by other factors, such as your personal statement, work experience, and extracurricular activities.

Therefore, it’s important to research the specific entry requirements for the course and university you are interested in.

To put it simply, 112 UCAS points in A Levels is equivalent to achieving BBC grades in three A Level subjects.

Each grade in an A Level is allocated a certain number of UCAS points. An A grade is worth 48 points, a B grade is worth 32 points, and a C grade is worth 16 points.

Therefore, achieving three B grades would give you a total of 96 UCAS points, and adding another C grade would give you a total of 112 UCAS points.

View our top A Level courses